Friday, 7 March 2014

George on Bob Dylan tribute concert

"Bobfest" from 1992 is now out on DVD and Blu-ray

The 30th Anniversary Concert Celebration (dubbed "Bobfest" by Neil Young) from 1992, originally released on CD and VHS in 1993, is now out on DVD and Blu-ray for the very first time. This edition contains 40 minutes worth of bonus material, including interviews and footage from the rehearsals before the concert. The footage is from a new HD-master with remastered sound. It looks absolutely superb! Unfortunately, they have not chosen to include both the songs George Harrison performed, at the concert and on the televised broadcast we also got to see and hear "If Not For You". I wish they could have included this performance, now that they've chosen to include extra material.
  1. Like a Rolling Stone - John Mellencamp
  2. Blowin' in the Wind - Stevie Wonder
  3. Foot of Pride - Lou Reed
  4. Masters of War - Eddie Vedder & Mike McCready
  5. The Times They Are a-Changin' - Tracy Chapman
  6. It Ain't Me Babe - June Carter Cash & Johnny Cash
  7. What Was It You Wanted - Willie Nelson
  8. I'll Be Your Baby Tonight - Kris Kristofferson
  9. Highway 61 Revisited - Johnny Winter
  10. Seven Days - Ron Wood
  11. Just Like a Woman - Richie Havens
  12. When the Ship Comes In - The Clancy Brothers and Robbie O Connell with special guest Tommy Makem
  13. War - Sinead O'Connor
  14. Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues - Neil Young
  15. All Along the Watchtower - Neil Young
  16. I Shall Be Released - Chrissie Hynde
  17. Love Minus Zero/No Limit - Eric Clapton
  18. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right - Eric Clapton
  19. Emotionally Yours - The O Jays
  20. When I Paint My Masterpiece - The Band
  21. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere - Mary-Chapin Carpenter, Rosanne Cash & Shawn Colvin
  22. Absolutely Sweet Marie - George Harrison
  23. License to Kill - Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
  24. Rainy Day Women #12 & 35 - Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
  25. Mr. Tambourine Man - Roger McGuinn
  26. It's Alright, Ma (I'm Only Bleeding) - Bob Dylan (introduced by George)
  27. My Back Pages - Bob Dylan, Roger McGuinn, Tom Petty, Neil Young, Eric Clapton & George Harrison (who sings a verse)
  28. Knockin' on Heaven's Door - Everyone (George shares a microphone with Ronnie Wood)
  29. Girl of the North Country - Bob Dylan
Bonus film:
Behind the Scenes (includes footage with George from rehearsals) (Playing time: 39 minutes)
Bonus concert performances (not in HD):
  1. Leopard-skin Pill-box Hat - John Mellencamp
  2. Boots of Spanish Leather - Nancy Griffith with Carolyn Hester
  3. Gotta Serve Somebody Booker T. & the M.G.'s
Whenever he's on stage, George plays an acoustic guitar.
$19.88 for the Deluxe Edition [Blu-ray] from Amazon

The TV broadcast of the missing "If Not For You" is available on YouTube, but the quality of course does not compare to the DVD/Blu-ray.


Joe Dee said...

There is really no good reason this should be left out imo. Hopefully one day we"ll get a George anthology and.maybe it can be included there.

Joe Dee said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
BWSmythe said...

Perhaps George hated his performance... or his estate said no. Shame. Nice purple suit though!

S e as garotas que erraram said...

I suggest you doing a post about the Backbeat Band. The were great!!