Move over, Ms L!

Hi all, wondering why you are looking at this jumbled up page? This is due to the fact that Facebook didn't like our url since it starts with wog, so we have been forced to move the blog. This was some time ago, and we have placed a script which would automatically send you to our new location. Obviously, this hasn't worked for all of you, since we have just finished moderating some of your comments which appeared on this site recently, and not on our new (and improved!) site. So what we're saying is head on over to our new site, and update your bookmarks!

Monday, 30 July 2012

Tomorrow Never Knows - UK charts debut

Tomorrow Never Knows, the new digital-only compilation from The Beatles made it's debut at no. 44 in the official UK albums charts and at no. 12 at the digital charts. It's an album no one expected. It harkens back to the years from 1973 to 1982 when EMI kept churning out compilation album after compilation album with the Beatles, to keep the group in the public eye as well as to be able to sell new product to the fans who already had it all. The red album, the blue album, Rock'n'Roll Music, Love Songs, The Beatles 20 Greatest Hits, Rarities, Beatles Ballads, the double Rock'n'Roll Music split into two different albums, Reel Music... yawn yawn yawn. The one golden exception was the live The Beatles At The Hollywood Bowl from 1977. And that's the one they should have released digitally now. I bet it would have made a higher debut placement in the charts.
Tomorrow Never Knows features nothing new, and as such needed no input from producer Giles Martin. The tracks:
01. "Revolution" – 3:25
02. "Paperback Writer" – 2:19
03. "And Your Bird Can Sing" – 1:59
04. "Helter Skelter" – 4:31
05. "Savoy Truffle" – 2:54
06. "I'm Down" – 2:32
07. "I've Got a Feeling" (Let It Be... Naked version) – 3:38
08. "Back in the U.S.S.R." – 2:44
09. "You Can't Do That" – 2:35
10. "It's All Too Much" – 6:26
11. "She Said She Said" – 2:36
12. "Hey Bulldog" – 3:11
13. "Tomorrow Never Knows" – 2:59
14. "The End" (Anthology 3 Version) – 2:52
Also, a music video from 1999 for Hey Bulldog was made available if you bought the album, but only streamed. If you want to download it, you have to pay extra.


mightyquinn said...

Great Compilation BUT We WANT The Vinyl( To EMI) to -Maybe Im just old School ?.. But we can put this together ourselves, When putting time + effort to this Why Not to Shea DVD/Audio or Let It be be Box project Or a more Complete BBC sessions ?
Cheers from Liverpool , Paul Dean

Lance T. Osborne said...

"... when EMI kept churning out compilation album after compilation album"

Agreed wholeheartedly. In this digital era, this is simply a playlist that most Beatles fans can assemble within seconds.

Granted, this compilation doesn't cater to us. But even for new listeners, the picks are so random I'm not sure it does good things for the group's legacy long-term. Seems like a money grab more than anything.

chained and perfumed said...

"putting time + effort to this"

No time or effort was put into this.

West Norwood Cassette Library said...

Agreed. Pointless compilation. Random track list.

Rubbish artwork too (assimilating a vinyl sleeve and label for a digital only release is pathetic)