Monday, 22 June 2015

Zu Laut! - revised edition

Revised editions now available
As predicted, the new information in Record Collector about the correct running order of the songs in the Star Club sets have inspired Beatlefans to compile a revised album.
It's the makers of the April "Zu Laut!" set who have rosen to the occasion, and presented two new editions of the album, one in mono and one in stereo.
In the inner page of the CD booklet, they have also included information about the missing songs, as described in Grossberg's notes and Gottfridsson's article. After the publication of the article, further listening has revealed that the four notes at the start of "I Remember You" on the Lingasong set actually turns out to be the start of "Glad All Over"!
This now constitutes the first ever Star Club Beatles compilation, unofficial or official, that presents the tracks (at least within each section/set) in their correct running order.
Some of the songs that were tape damaged or had missing notes have had these reconstructed, however the originals are also included for historical accuracy in an extra folder.
The layout of the new 2CD sets (the DVD is not included this time) is as follows:

CD 1
Set one (A)
Unknown song (fragment)
Paul tries to get Horst to sing.
01. Be-Bop-A-Lula (with Fred Fascher on vocals)
02. Link
03. I Saw Her Standing There
04. Link
05. Hallelujah, I Love Her So (with Horst Fascher on vocals)
06. Link
07. Red Hot (with John on organ/final 23 seconds recontructed)
Set two (B)
08. Sheila (first four bars reconstructed)
09. Link
10. Kansas City/Hey Hey Hey Hey
11. Link
12. Shimmy Like Kate
13. Link
14. Reminiscing
15. Link
16. Red Sails In The Sunset
17. Link
18. Sweet Little Sixteen
19. Link
20. Roll Over Beethoven
21. Link
22. A Taste Of Honey (final 40 seconds reconstructed)

Set three (C) (Christmas)
23. Nothin' Shakin' But The Leaves On The Trees
24. Link
25. I Saw Her Standing There
26. Link
27. To Know Her Is To Love Her
28. Link
29. Everybody's Trying To Be My Baby
30. Link
31. Till There Was You
32. Link
33. Where Have You Been All My Life?
34. Link
35. Lend Me Your Comb
36. Link
37. Your Feet's Too Big
38. I'm Talking About You
39. Link
40. A Taste Of Honey

Set four (F) (probably same night as set three)
A Taste of Honey (fragment)
41. Link
42. Matchbox
43. Link
44. Little Queenie
45. Link
46. Roll Over Beethoven
47. Goodnight

CD 2:
Set five (E)
01. Preamble
02. Road Runner (soundcheck)
03. The Hippy Hippy Shake
04. Link
I'm Talking About You (partial)
Reminiscing (partial)
05. Link
06. A Taste Of Honey  (with Tony Sheridan on backing vocals?)

Set six (H) (some announcements missing)
07. I Remember You (some looping still present)
08. Ask Me Why
09.Besame Mucho
10. Mr. Moonlight
11. Falling In Love Again
12. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down And Cry (Over You) (final 2 seconds reconstructed)
To Know Her Is To Love Her (partial)

Set seven (I)
Shazam (soundcheck)
The Hippy Hippy Shake
13. I'm Talking About You
Glad All Over (fragment) (a further 42 seconds exist)

Set eight (K)
14. Long Tall Sally

Set nine (unknown section)
15. Twist and Shout

Set ten (I)
A Taste of Honey (7 min prior to New Year's Eve)

16. Money (That's What I Want)
17. Sparkling Brown Eyes
18. Lovesick Blues
19. First Taste Of Love
20. Dizzy Miss Lizzy
21. Do You Believe
22. Ooh Poo Pah Shimmy
23. Twist And Shout

24. Big River

25. Hully Gully

Sets are not necessarily in chronological order.
Recorded December 18 – 31, 1962.
Letters refers to Record Collector article May-June 2015.
Tracks in red are not currently available.

The new sets, like the previous effort, has been made public at the bootlegzone forum - and are free-for-all downloads. If you'e a late arrival to this page, they may be gone. All things must pass.


Joao said...

It's gone already. Does anybody has another link?

Roger Stormo said...

No, still there. Here's a direct link to that particular topic.

Muddy said...

You do a great job of keeping us up to date with this stuff. Thanks so much. Mono and stereo, eh? In this particular instance, Lord Reith deserves an enormous thank you as well.

Stephen Rao said...

Somebody really needs to get their hands on the 'Oxtango Definitive Remaster' edition of this record. I've been searching for it forever, now! :(