Thursday, 12 November 2015

Ringo tribute concert to be released on album

The new album, Ringo Starr: The Lifetime of Peace & Love Tribute Concert.

The music of Ringo Starr was celebrated on January 20th, 2014 at a tribute concert in Los Angeles, an event that also saw the Beatles drummer honoured with the Lifetime Of Peace & Love Award on behalf of the David Lynch Foundation. Recordings from the evening's concert will now be made available on a ten track album on December 4 via Communion Records, and the sales will benefit The David Lynch Foundation. The record has been mixed by Bob Clearmountain. On the ten tracks from that evening's concert, the performers were backed by a house band comprised of Don Was, Peter Frampton, Kenny Aranoff, Steve Lukather and Benmont Tench. Among the participating artists, tracks have been selected from The Head and the Heart ("Octopus’s Garden"), Brendan Benson ("Don’t Go Where the Road Don’t Go"), Joe Walsh ("Back Off Boogaloo"),  Ben Harper ("Walk With You") and Ben Folds ("Oh My My"). The album ends with Ringo himself taking centre stage, with renditions of "Photograph,"  "Boys" and "With a Little Help From My Friends." Listen to The Head and the Hearts "Octopus’s Garden" on YouTube.

1. Ark Life - “Can’t Do It Wrong”
2. The Head and the Heart - “Octopus’s Garden”
3. Brendan Benson - “Don’t Go Where The Road Don’t Go”
4. Bettye LaVette - “It Don’t Come Easy”
5. Ben Folds - “Oh My My”
6. Ben Harper - “Walk With You”
7. Joe Walsh - “Back Off Boogaloo”
8. Ringo Starr - “Photograph”
9. Ringo Starr - “Boys”
10. Ringo Starr - “With A Little Help From My Friends”

1 comment:

Kevin Skory said...

It's too bad they wouldn't release the full concert on Blu-ray and DVD.